Topic: My Proposed Fix to the Advancing Channels Issue

As Duane pointed out in an earlier post, the problem with Advancing channels is not taking away the controls from the widget. For example using tilt to advance to the next channel would take that control away from the widget.

Here's my fix. I think it's simple and addresses these issues, maybe I'm missing something let me know.

a   Add a "Splash Screen" to the Control Panel. This would be triggered by the button on top.

b   The Splash Screen could display the next Widget, the Playing Widget whatever. 

c   Also there would be a button to go to the Control Panel Proper.

d   Now if showing the Splash Screen the Button on top was hit, it would then advance to the Next Widget.

So in effect if one was watching a channel and wanted to go to the next widget they would hit the button twice. Bingo. Right?

This seems like an easy fix, in fact the wiki has info on how to install a new Control Panel. I'm not a programmer or Flasher so this is just rambling, but I would love to know if this was possible.

Re: My Proposed Fix to the Advancing Channels Issue

We have a prototype in Engineering that does something very similar to that.

Duane Im curious if it's anything like what i suggested in the other related thread-> http://forum.chumby.com/viewtopic.php?id=647

Well, the big trick here is creating a system that doesn't require too much hidden knowledge and "magic" timing - anything we do must be readily discoverable without anyone reading a manual.  While many approaches are easy once you know them, the problem is figuring them out in the first place.

This means "press and hold for two seconds" or "press and tilt" and things of that ilk aren't very good candidates.