Topic: No wifi?

Hey everyone,

I just got a chumby for my boyfriend for Christmas because he needs an alarm clock and I though the chumby was super cool.

However, he tells me that when he doesn't have internet connection it won't work as an alarm clock because it is "unable to download the control panel". I thought I read though that it should just switch to beeps rather than an internet widget when it loses connection.

Is it true that it is useless as an alarm clock when there is no internet? That would be awful, as his internet isn't the most reliable thing in the world and having him lose his alarm would be really bad.

If this is true... is there anything I can do myself about it? (I'm a fairly competent programmer)

Re: No wifi?

There is a way to launch the internal Control Panel without requiring an Internet connection, but you'll need a USB dongle.

Using an editor that produces UNIX-style line endings, ie linefeeds, put the following in a file called "debugchumby" on a USB dongle:

#!/bin/sh
chumbyflashplayer.x -i /usr/widgets/controlpanel.swf

Boot the device with the dongle plugged in.

This will launch the local (typically older) version of the Control Panel despite the lack of network connectivity.  You should be able to set some simple alarms and listen to the FM radio, local music files, and some iPods, but that's about it.

Thank you!

What will happen if he is using something like pandora for his alarm and his wifi cuts out, will the alarm switch to beeps or will it fail to go off?

Well, this hack is assuming there's no wifi - if he already has an alarm set for Pandora, and he runs the device in this mode, then it *should* beep.

It should not be possible to *create* a Pandora alarm in this mode, since you need to be able to access Pandora in order to choose and configure it.

This is an unsupported hack, so your mileage may vary smile