1 (edited by JohnA 2008-06-16 09:49:31)

Topic: Chumby Business Model

When I first got my Chumby, I absolutely loved it. Until yesterday, that is, when I was shocked to see ad channels surreptitiously added without my knowledge or permission. Certainly, when I bought the Chumby, there was no mention that I would be forced to watch ads. Nowhere in the web site, and nowhere in the activation process. Now this fact may be buried somewhere in the web site, but I certainly did not see it anywhere I looked.

Since I am an MBA student, I decided to look at the Chumby business model and see if it would work.

One thing that I have learned is that new products that are radically different from anything before them, like the Chumby is, take a very long time to penetrate the market. It can be five years or more before a product like this can penetrate 3-4% of the potential market. The key to success then, is: 1. Enough capital to sustain the company during this time; 2. Segmenting the market and targeting the innovators, who are the ones that buy new products like the Chumby; 3. Creating a positioning statement that articulates the value that the Chumby provides to the target market; and 4. Promoting and placing the Chumby so that it can achieve maximum exposure to the target market. After a few years, the product can start capturing a significant percentage of the mass market as well, but initially, it must be targeted to the right customers.