Topic: Need an Idiots Guide for Slim Server

I need the idiots version of instructions on how to set up Slim Server.

I am not technical.

I have installed Slim Server on my Mac and now I am clueless as to what to do.

I would like to listen to LIVE365 stations via the Chumby and music off of my Mac.

I know I have to put an IP into the Chumby. WHAT IP? Where do I find it?

Any step by step instructions would be most appreciated.

Re: Need an Idiots Guide for Slim Server

iankh wrote:

I need the idiots version of instructions on how to set up Slim Server.

I am not technical.

I have installed Slim Server on my Mac and now I am clueless as to what to do.

I would like to listen to LIVE365 stations via the Chumby and music off of my Mac.

I know I have to put an IP into the Chumby. WHAT IP? Where do I find it?

Any step by step instructions would be most appreciated.

Ian, I just emailed you after our chat.
Let me know if this helps - http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?BeginnersGuide

I'm sorry. But none of it makes any sense. I have Slimserver installed on my Mac. But I am clueless as to what to configure on the Chumby.

You guys have got to create better step-by-step documentation for the masses, if you want to sell the Chumby device beyond a technology savvy development community.

idk if this is your prob, but for me, I had to learn that in order to configure/control slimserver.. you need to open "http://localhost:9000" and from there its easy. Just find the IP of your mac and punch it into your chumby, go to the url I listed above with your music loaded and hit the play button.

Sadly I cannot use slimserver anymore, I have tried reinstalling many times on my 7.10 system but when I tell it where my music is, it tells me its scanning it, and then no matter what combination of folder/music I set up, when it gets done scanning it tells me I have no music. Sucks, oh well.

Let me know if that helps you any!
-Tom