Topic: Generic RSS Reader

using the widget with a german feed causes the text to be unreadable. The german umlauts (ä,ü,ö) aren't displayed correct.
I can reproduce this behaviour in flash with a simple rss reader when I don't use 'System.useCodepage=true;'

Is it possible to change the widget so that international umlauts are displayed correct ?

2 (edited by derludl 2008-04-07 12:10:00)

Re: Generic RSS Reader

hello Le Tartar, I checked your post every now and then, hoping to see someone replying to it and suggesting a solution. Apparently this did not happen (yet) ;-(. I share your problem with RSS feeds that show some crumpled text because of the german umlauts used in it. So, after a while I decided to write a my own RSS reader, starting off from the Sample RSS widget in the Chumby Wiki. I have to admit, I am a flash/actionscript newbie, so I have some learning to do ;-)

What I learned so far: when loading XMLs into flash, nodeValues are parsed as UTF-8 encoded strings by default. But I want to load several german RSS feeds that use ISO-8859-1 (Latin-1) encoding, clearly stating so in their header:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:blogChannel="http://www.(...)

So it's not the problem Duane mentions in his post to http://forum.chumby.com/viewtopic.php?id=1953 ("Minor confusions with net radio display") where the encoded text does not fit to the encoding in the XML header node ....