Topic: Embed MP3 using FlashDveleop?

Hello,

I'd like to embed an MP3 in a widget and play it as a background loop.  I'm trying to do this in FlashDevelop (I'm new to Flash development).

I know it can be done dynamically via Sound.loadSound(...) and Sound.start(...) but I can only get this working with external MP3s.  Is there a way to access an mp3 in the 'library' and loop it?

Thanks!

wayn3w

2 (edited by wayn3w 2008-02-24 13:35:42)

Re: Embed MP3 using FlashDveleop?

I figured this out... and learned alot about FlashDevelop and swfmill.  In short:

* You cannot add an MP3 directly into a Flashdevelop project; you need to create a separate swf using swfmill and add the new swf to the library.  Then you can access the MP3 via the ID using attachMovies().  It helps to make a 'pre-build' command to build the new swf.

* swfmill only supports a limited set of MP3 bit rates: stereo (not joint stereo) 56, 64, 128, 192, 256 kbps.  I only found success with the 128kbps rate.

* for some reason, I cannot get onSoundComplete to work on the Chumby to make a loop; it works on my PC.

wayn3w

Could you please post the XML file that is used by swfmill to create the swf file and also post the corresponding lines of ActionScript that access the sound file? Thanks.

Following up on the guidance above, here are some detailed instructions for embedding sounds using FlashDevelop.

The version of FlashDevelop I’m using (3.0.0 Beta 7) cannot directly import a sound as a library element like the png and fonts mentioned here. However, FlashDevelop can import an swf file that contains the sound. So here are the steps.