Topic: help with hscroll

I'm working on a widget where I need to scroll text that's wider than the screen, "marquee-style". I'm doing this by altering the hscroll of the textfield. This works great in a browser, but doesn't appear to work correctly on my Chumby. I'm watching for when the text has scrolled enough by watching its hscroll, then resetting it when it scrolls its width.

The behavior I'm seeing is that the hscroll value is being changed (i'm updating another text field with it's current hscroll to help me debug), but the actual display is not keeping up with the hscroll value. This causes the scroll to "reset" before the field is visibly scrolled the correct amount. It just scrolls a small percentage of the distance. I've tried scrolling by a greater number of pixels each time, but that doesn't help.

Is this the best way to handle this? I'm new to Flash and am having trouble sussing out the cause of the issue.

Re: help with hscroll

Yeah, hscroll seems to work differently in Flash Lite than it does in desktop Flash.

I'm not sure if that's intentional - I'll put together an example to send up to Adobe and see what they have to say.

how are you watching the text? with an onEnterFrame event or setInterval?

4 (edited by ih8gates 2007-12-07 06:14:18)

i'm having the same function that sets the hscroll put the value in a visible textfield.

my code looks like this (scroller is a function that gets attached to movieclips that contain a title_text textfield.

_root.titleScrollingSpeed is set elsewhere.

function scroller(target_mc) {

if(target_mc.title_txt.textWidth > target_mc.title_txt._width) {
            target_mc.title_txt.hscroll += _root.titleScrollingSpeed;
            trace(target_mc.title_txt.hscroll);
            debug.text = target_mc.title_txt.hscroll + " - " + target_mc.textScrollWidth;
        }

if(target_mc.title_txt.hscroll >= target_mc.textScrollWidth) {
            target_mc.title_txt.hscroll = 0;
        }

}