Topic: Replace a Chumby 8 button?

The button on top of my chumby 8 is on its last leg, maybe totally dead. I can press it several times and get nothing in response. After mashing the button for a good minute, I manage to get it to register the press. How hard would it be to replace/repair the button? I have limited to no experience with things like this. I once replaced the 'R' button on my Nintendo DS, but that was with snap-in circuitry.

Could I just grab a momentary switch from my local electronics shop and wire it in? Does the chumby shop sell replacement buttons? Please help, I miss being able to actually interact with my chumby...

Re: Replace a Chumby 8 button?

Hmmm, maybe I can find a replacement switch for you.  I'll try to stop by the storage unit and see what I can find.

Otherwise, you could open up the device and attach a different momentary switch - it might not look as polished, but it would work.

3 (edited by linkmandrew 2017-04-12 06:36:48)

Thank you for looking!

How difficult would either repair be? I know that these are 'made to be hacked', but I feel it's focused more on software than hardware.

The case comes off pretty easily - you can see the covers for the screws on the back of the unit.  I believe the switch is actually a small circuit board with a flexed metal button, with two wires that go around the display to a connector on the main circuit board.  There might be some glue holding the wires in place, it should be easy to remove.  I'll know more when I dig a unit out and take a closer look.

For a while, we actually had a bit of a maker community doing things with the devices.  There's even a "Craft" section of the forum where such things are/were discussed.  I've made a few myself, it's kind of fun - even more so now that I have talked myself into buying a 3D printer.