Topic: Is my Chumby One dead?

I bought it when they first came out, and it's been a trusted friend ever since. The only previous problem I've had was the power supply failure which was solved with a quick trip to Radio Shack (thanks to Duane's post -- http://forum.chumby.com/viewtopic.php?id=8438 ).

This morning, I awoke to see the circles on the blue screen, basically alternating between plain white circles and multicolored ones. I unplugged it and pulled the battery. Restarting it got me to the Blue Octy animation before rebooting. Every time I've tried to restart it since, I get no further than the multicolored circles on the blue screen, which then dissolves into a blank white screen. That's where it remains...unresponsive. Every time I unplug and replug it, I get the same thing (blue screen with circles, dissolving into a white screen).

Is there any hope for the little guy? I should note that I'm not a techie at all. Any advice is very much appreciated.

Re: Is my Chumby One dead?

See if you can get into "special options" mode - if so, then try a USB firmware update.

Getting into special options is done by powering up the device while touching the screen.

Hopefully that will fix it - the symptoms *sound* like the SD card is failing, so it *might* take more than that to fix it.

I just tried it, and the "loading special options" screen dissolved to white as well. Time to order a new one?

You might be having another power supply problem.   that would be my first place of attack.  I've repaired three c1 power supplies, and each one had different failure modes, one wouldn't work at all, another would boot part way and repeat, and another would just reboot or hang every couple days. (the last one, after a new cap in it's power supply had at last look been up for three months.)

Cleaning up any loose bits and bytes.