Topic: A little out of my depth here, compiling for infocast 3.5?

I'm still quite new to linux and haven't really had to compile much of anything before, could someone give me a gentle nudge in the right direction for what I'll need?

Here's what uname -a gives me
Linux Infocast 1 2.6.28-chumby #1 PREEMPT Fri Nov 5 18:24:54 PDT 2010 armv5tejl GNU/Linux

From the chumby source page I'm assuming I'll need this
http://files.chumby.com/source/falconwi … 053111.tgz

The above link should be the kernel source right? Or does that contain everything I need?

I'm wanting to compile MPD, I know someone else did this for the C1 so I'm assuming it should be very similar (if not identical) for the 3.5" infocast. The only thing is the other guy said in his post that he cross compiled it with ffshow and talks about compiling it as an input plugin with the ALSA mixer as the output. I understand ALSA deals with sound but I really don't get what he's talking about. Maybe it'll become clearer when I actually get to the compiling stage.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Re: A little out of my depth here, compiling for infocast 3.5?

You should not need the kernel source for most things, such as apps - what you need is the toolchain (compilers, etc).  The kernel source is only useful if you're writing drivers or stuff of that nature.

There are a couple of ways of doing C/C++ development for a Chumby:

1) The cross-development toolchain, see here

2) A Scratchbox environment, see here

3) Doing it on the device itself (good for small things) - just open up a terminal and type "gcc" and it should download and install everything.

In the last case, I've personally built things like python, node, etc., but it's limited, and somewhat slow.  The Scratchbox environment is excellent for certain types of things where cross development is difficult.  However, the build system that Chumby actually uses internally to build firmware is based on the first method.