Topic: Help developing a "generic webcam" widget

I am not a flash programmer, but I am a Perl programmer and a Linux sysadmin.
It seems to me that we should be able to create a widget that does 2 things:
1. Accepts a URL to a jpg, then pulls an image from that URL
2. Forces the image size to 320x240.
This way anyone who has a URL of an image can use the "generic webcam widget" to display it.
I have found 3 or 4 webcam feeds out there I would like to use, but they are not the right size and I would not want to create multiple widgets for them. There are 1000s of potential web cams out there (including personal cams) so why not just create a single widget to handle them all?

So to get to my question, is there anyone out there who can help me develop this?
I have flash MX 6 (I know it is a bit old), but I have very little idea what I am doing with it.
I can struggle with it myself, but I have a feeling there is a very knowledgeable person out there that can create this in under an hour.

Please let me know if anyone out there can help.

Re: Help developing a "generic webcam" widget

I second!  In fact, the biggest reason I got my Chumby was for this purpose: to have my desktop server prepare an image every few seconds showing my weather station data, unread email in high-priority folders, and other news worth my attention.

FWIW I'm a Linux/C/Perl programmer too but Flash-ignorant.  If you get this widget working, would you mind sending me a copy?  I'm EdSantiago on chumby.com.

3 (edited by Beastlykings 2007-12-13 12:30:17)

Hey, what if when it gets made, and then uploaded to the site, you make it so when you add it to your channels then the "customize" option would have a big list of approved cams to select from? And then have a special email address for suggesting new cams.
Because I don't think your average person is gonna be able to re-code (even if just a little bit) a flash widget, let alone want to have to do it.

amiright?